fbpx

Conferences

The power of information technology

Projection-débat | 2001, l’Odyssée de l’Espace de Stanley Kubrick | Jeudi 7 mars à 8h30 à l’Ecal | Entrée libre, sans inscription


USA / 1968 / 2h29 / v.o. s-t fr. / 10 (14) 

Screening followed by a debate to explore the relationship between humans and computers, their seductive powers and how to keep them under control.

With Solange Ghernaouti, professor at UNIL (University of Lausanne) and international expert on cybersecurity and cyber defence, and Jacques Besson, psychiatrist specialised in addiction to technology.

Workshop with Nathan Stornetta

Thursday march 7th at 2 pm at EJMA | Free entry without registration


The workshop is open to musicians interested in film scoring. The scoring process will be analysed: image reading, spotting, collaboration with the director, model programming, orchestration, recording, production and mixing. This through concrete examples and Nathan Stornetta’s personal experience.

 

Nathan Stornettais a Swiss drummer and composer, trained at EJMA. He also graduated from the Royal College of Music in London with distinction. In 2012 he joined renowned film composer Hans Zimmer in Los Angeles, with whom he worked on projects such as The Little Prince as a composer. One of his soundtracks for a Puy du Fou (France) creation was awarded Best New Creation 2018 at the THEA Awards in Los Angeles.

When science fiction gives in to reality

Film + debate | Soylent Green | Friday march 8th at 9 am at Ecal

Free entry without registration


USA / 1973 / 1h37 / v.o. s-t fr./ 12 (14) 

Soylent Green depicts a dystopian future for earth and humanity, where the planet’s resources are pushed too far resulting in suffering from pollution, poverty, overpopulation and depleted resources. This scenario, envisioned around forty years ago, was adapted from a 1966 novel. Soylent Green could be our reality in the not so distant future, leading us to reflect on how humanity has become a victim its own shortcomings.

Jennifer Murzeauis an author. She has published three novels in which she explores the excesses of our times, reflecting on alienation and freedom. Her latest novel, La désobéissante(2017, Robert Laffont), examines the misdeeds of our civilisation by imagining Paris in 2050. In her upcoming book, La vie dans les bois, to be published in April by Allary Editions, she addresses the forgotten link between humans and nature, spending eight days living in trees, with a hammock, a bag of rice and a knife.

Laurent Le Forestieris professor at UNIL’s department of History and Aesthetics, vice-president of AFRHC (Association Française de Recherche en Histoire du Cinéma), and editorial secretary of “1895 History of Cinema Review. His research focuses on the history of critique (La Transformation Bazin,PUR, 2017). Among other things, he is currently working on films focusing on ecological issues from the 1970s.

Her Point of View

Women in production

Friday march 8th at 11:45 am at the Auditorium Tschumi, EHL | Free entry without registration


Panel discussion with Sandrine BRAUER, Caroline BONMARCHAND, Judith NORA, Marie-Ange LUCIANI and Marie MASMONTEIL

In partnership with the Women’s Business Society and the Ecole Hôtelière de Lausanne, this panel discussion will bring together film producers and students from the Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne. It will be moderated by the Women’s Business Society. The discussion will focus on the challenges faced by women entrepreneurs in the film industry. Participation by the Ecole Hôtelière de Lausanne’s female students aims to highlight the issues faced by young women entrepreneurs in all areas of business, from hotel management to the film industry.

Children’s session

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs | Cultural Mediation by Chloé Hofmann (CEC)

Friday march 8th at 9:30 am at the Casino de Montbenon, Paderewski | Free admission upon reservation by emailing: sophie.dascal@r7al.ch, specifying the number of students attending the session.


USA / 1937 / 1h23 / French version / 6 (8)

Walt Disney’s first colour and sound animated feature film was an international success. It brought together a host of technical and artistic innovations: highly expressive and humane characters, a detailed and richly colourful set in Technicolor and an incredibly realistic depth-of-field. Not to mention its bewitching soundtrack. When it was released, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs won the Grand Prix at the Venice Mostra (1938) and an Oscar of honour in 1939… accompanied by seven little statuettes!

 

Cultural mediation
We will introduce the screening with a discussion about gender, using examples from selected scenes. This short mediation provides teachers with an opportunity to discuss the issue of stereotypes with their students. The aim is to invite them to reflect on the representation of men and women in Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, and how the film has contributed to a standardised interpretation of femininity and masculinity about which it seems important to question ourselves.

 

Chloé Hofmann, head of scientific mediation at UNIL’s film studies centre, is a researcher, mediation facilitator at the Pully Art Museum and member of the organising committee of the Vevey International Funny Film Festival.

Conversation with Leïla Slimani

Kering – Women in Motion

Saturday march 9th at 11 am, Beau-Rivage Palace, Suite Lavaux | admission upon reservation by emailing: presse@r7al.ch – FULL


 

Women in Motion sets out to showcase the contribution of women to the film industry, whether in front of the camera or behind it. Launched in 2015 by Kering, in partnership with the Cannes Film Festival, Women in Motion is now expanding to film events world-wide, including Sundance and Think Cinema Lausanne. After welcoming Rossy de Palma in 2018, Women in Motion is delighted to welcome acclaimed journalist and writer Leïla Slimani.

Conversation with Leïla Slimani

Paul Auster

Author’s Panel

From the novel to the screen

Sunday march 10th at 12 am at The Jan Michalski Foundation, Montricher | Admission CHF 10, upon reservation by emailing: tableronde@fondation-janmichalski.ch – FULL



Moderated by Isabelle Falconnier (journalist) and Alain Boillat (UNIL professor) | With Paul Auster, Jean-Paul Rappeneau, Jean-Jacques Annaud, Maylis de Kerangal, David Foenkinos and Olivier Guez

Some have gone from writing to directing to adapt their own novels; others are not authors but have successfully adapted monuments of literature to film; others have collaborated in the adaptation of their works to the big screen.

#Follow us on Instagram

fbpx

Conférences

Le pouvoir de l’informatique

Projection-débat | 2001, l’Odyssée de l’Espace de Stanley Kubrick | Jeudi 7 mars à 8h30 à l’Ecal | Entrée libre, sans inscription


USA / 1968 / 2h29 / v.o. s-t fr. / 10 (14) 

Projection suivie d’un débat pour questionner les relations entre humains et ordinateurs et discuter du pouvoir de séduction et d’encadrement de l’informatique.

Avec Solange Ghernaouti, professeure à l’UNIL et experte internationale en cybersécurité et cyberdéfense, et Jacques Besson, psychiatre spécialiste des dépendances.

Workshop avec Nathan Stornetta

Jeudi 7 mars à 14h00 à l’EJMA | Entrée libre sans inscription


Le workshop s’adresse à des musiciens intéressés par la création de musique de film. Le processus du scoring sera analysé: lecture de l’image, spotting, collaboration avec le réalisateur, programmation de maquettes, orchestration, enregistrement, production et mixage. Ceci à travers des exemples concrets et de l’expérience personnelle de Nathan Stornetta.

Nathan Stornetta est un batteur et compositeur suisse, formé à la Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne, puis diplômé du Royal College of Music de Londres où il a obtenu le prix d’excellence. En 2012, il rejoint le célèbre compositeur de musique de film, Hans Zimmer, à Los Angeles, au côté duquel il travaille comme compositeur sur des projets tels que Le petit prince. L’une de ses bandes originales, pour un spectacle du Puy du Fou, a reçu le prix de la Meilleure Création Mondiale 2018 aux THEA Awards à Los Angeles

Quand la science-fiction cède le pas à la réalité

Projection-débat | Soylent Green (Soleil vert) | Vendredi 8 mars à 9h00 à l’Ecal

Entrée libre, sans inscription


USA / 1973 / 1h37 / v.o. s-t fr./ 12 (14) 

Soleil Vert met en scène le dépassement de toutes les limites, celles de la planète, celles de l’humain. New-York, 2022, le peuple agonise, les riches se calfeutrent. Réchauffement climatique, épuisement des sols, radicales inégalités, ont rendu le monde à peine vivable. Ce contexte a été imaginé aux alentours de 1974, date de sortie du film (adapté d’un roman de 1966). La science-fiction cède aujourd’hui le pas à la réalité du temps présent. Et oblige à admettre que cette humanité ployant sous le poids de ses propres erreurs, c’est nous.

Jennifer Murzeau est auteure. Elle a publié trois romans dans lesquels elle explore les dérives de notre époque, mène une réflexion sur l’aliénation et la liberté. Le dernier, La désobéissante (2017, Robert Laffont) scrutait notamment les fourvoiements de notre civilisation en imaginant Paris en 2050. Dans son prochain livre, La vie dans les bois, à paraître en avril chez Allary Editions, elle questionne le lien perdu entre l’humain et la nature dans un récit pour lequel elle a passé huit jours entre les arbres, avec un hamac, un sac de riz et un couteau.

Laurent Le Forestier est professeur à la Section d’histoire et esthétique du cinéma de l’UNIL, vice-président de l’AFRHC (Association Française de Recherche en Histoire du Cinéma), secrétaire d’édition de 1895 revue d’histoire du cinéma. Ses recherches portent notamment sur l’histoire de la critique (La Transformation Bazin, PUR, 2017). Il travaille actuellement, entre autres choses, sur les films ayant thématisé les problèmes écologiques, dans les années 1970. 

Parle avec Elles.

Les femmes dans la production

Vendredi 8 mars à 11h45 à l’Auditorium Tschumi, EHL | Entrée libre, sans inscription


Table ronde avec Sandrine BRAUER, Caroline BONMARCHAND, Judith NORA, Marie-Ange LUCIANI et Marie MASMONTEIL

En partenariat avec la Women’s Business Society et l’Ecole Hôtelière de Lausanne. La table ronde réunira des productrices de cinéma et des étudiantes de l’Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne et sera animée par la Women’s Business Society. Le débat portera sur les défis pour les femmes entrepreneures dans le monde du cinéma. La participation d’étudiantes de l’Ecole Hôtelière de Lausanne permettra de mettre en exergue les questions que se posent les jeunes femmes entrepreneures dans tous les domaines des affaires, comme dans la gestion hôtelière ou le cinéma.

Séance pédagogique

Blanche-Neige et les Sept Nains | Médiation culturelle par Chloé Hofmann (CEC)

Vendredi 8 mars à 9h30 au Casino de Montbenon, Paderewski | Entrée libre sur inscription, par mail à sophie.dascal@r7al.ch, en précisant le nombre d’élèves qui assisteront à la séance


USA / 1937 / 1h23 / v.fr. / 6 (8)

Premier long métrage couleur et sonore de Walt Disney, ce film d’animation au succès interplanétaire réunit une quantité d’innovations tant techniques qu’artistiques pour l’époque: des personnages humains très expressifs qui invitent à l’empathie, un décor détaillé et riche en couleurs qui met à profit le fameux Technicolor, ainsi qu’un effet de profondeur de champ super réaliste. Sans oublier une bande son littéralement envoûtante. A sa sortie, Blanche-Neige et les Sept Nains remporte le Grand Prix à la Mostra de Venise (1938) et un Oscar d’honneur en 1939… accompagné de sept petites statuettes!

La médiation culturelle 

En introduction à la projection, une réflexion sur la question du genre sera initiée. Sur le mode de la discussion, et en prenant des exemples tirés de scènes choisies, cette courte médiation propose aux enseignants d’aborder la question des stéréotypes avec leurs élèves. Le but est de les inviter à réfléchir à la représentation des hommes et des femmes dans ce film. En tant que production culturelle, Blanche-Neige et les Sept Nains a en effet participé à la normalisation d’une certaine féminité et d’une certaine masculinité à propos de laquelle il semble important de s’interroger.

Chloé Hofmann, Responsable de la médiation scientifique du centre d’études cinématographiques de l’UNIL, est chercheuse, auxiliaire en médiation au musée d’art de Pully et membre du comité d’organisation du Vevey International Funny Film Festival.

Rencontre avec Leïla Slimani

Kering – Women in Motion

Samedi 9 mars, 11h, Beau-Rivage Palace, Suite Lavaux | Entrée sur inscription à presse@r7al.ch – COMPLET


 

WOMEN IN MOTION vise à mettre en lumière le travail des femmes dans le 7e art, la photographie et toujours plus de domaines de la création. Lancé en mai 2015 par Kering, partenaire of ciel du Festival de Cannes, WOMEN IN MOTION rayonne dans le monde entier à travers différents événements, au nombre desquels, depuis sa première édition, les Rencontres 7e Art Lausanne. Après y avoir accueilli Rossy De Palma en 2018, WOMEN IN MOTION a la joie de recevoir Leïla Slimani, journaliste, écrivaine récompensée du prix Goncourt et femme engagée.

Paul Auster

Table ronde des auteurs

Du roman à l’écran

Dimanche 10 mars à 12h00 à la Fondation Jan Michalski, Montricher | Entrée 10 CHF, sur inscription à tableronde@fondation-janmichalski.ch – COMPLET



Modéré par Isabelle Falconnier (journaliste) et Alain Boillat (professeur UNIL) | Avec Paul Auster, Jean-Paul Rappeneau, Jean-Jacques Annaud, Maylis de Kerangal, David Foenkinos et Olivier Guez

Certains sont passés de l’écriture à la réalisation pour adapter leurs propres romans ; d’autres ne sont pas écrivains, mais ont entrepris avec succès d’adapter au cinéma un monument de la littérature ; et d’autre encore ont participé à l’adaptation de leurs écrits pour le grand écran.

#Suivez-nous sur Instagram